oatmeal peanut butter chocolate chip cookies

Image

So tonight I made oatmeal peanut butter chocolate chip cookies. I’m going to be honest… Everyone who knows me really well is probably not surprised that this is what I spent my night doing. I have baked enough cookies to probably feed this entire town for a week. I must say this is a nice change to my typical chocolate chip cookie night and the peanut butter really added a kick to it! The cookies turned out pretty tasty and I have about 40 of them in my kitchen if anyone is hungry for dessert! I recommend this recipe to anyone who likes peanut butter OR anyone who likes chewy and crispy style cookies. Derek decided to hoard half the dough into the freezer and has finally finished all of it two weeks later.  Yes, I realize I have come back to edit this post two weeks later to add this sentence.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup of natural peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup of butter
  • 1/2 cup of canola oil
  • 1 cup of brown sugar
  • 2/3 cup of white sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3 cups of oats
  • 2/3 cups of white flour

Making the dough:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Add in a large sized bowl [or mixer] the butter and sugar and mix until fluffy [takes three minutes or so].
  3. Add the 2 eggs and 1 teaspoon of vanilla to the bowl/mixer. Mix on medium speed until well blended.
  4. Add all the dry ingredients. Mix until it looks like delicious cookie dough.
  5. Bake for 13-15 minutes in the oven and let them cool for 5 minutes. The dough will grow at least twice the size so be sure to leave space in between the cookies.

Yield: 40 cookies.

Leave a Reply

